Lee mentioned that the Macaronis might get a little cheesy at times, which naturally lead me to dig out this link.

I’m currently writing a WIP called ‘Secrets’ which is another Georgian Age of Sail novel. (Similar setting to Captain’s Surrender but different characters.) In the course of writing a certain intimate scene I was wondering to myself ‘I wonder how I can describe what John smells like’. I wanted something that combined cream, salt and citrus (from his lemon and bergamot cologne), and after a bit of Googling I came up with yet another reason that the 18th Century was indeed an age of Enlightenment.

Georgian Ice Cream!

OK, so I personally would not be so keen on the Parmesan Cream Ice, (which is where the cheese comes in) but the Royal Cream Ice – flavoured with lemon zest – was exactly what I was looking for. Also featured; Chocolate Cream Ice, Burnt Filbert Cream Ice, Punch Water Ice and Bergamot Water Ice.

Historic Food: Georgian Ices and Victorian Bombes

Oh and look, the bombes are in the shape of anarchist’s bombs! How cool is that?

